Who is FQXi?

The Scientific Directorate provides the scientific leadership of FQXi, advised and overseen by the Advisory Council. Scientists participate in FQXi's grant programs, and/or by becoming Members. Grant decisions are made by external review panels, and a Donor Advised Fund administers the grants. Legal and financial oversight are provided by the Board of Directors.

FQXi is supported solely by philanthropic donations. Opportunities for you to participate may be found here.


Scientific Directorate

Scientific Director: Anthony Aguirre, Professor, UC Santa Cruz
Aguirre received his Ph.D. in Astronomy in 2000 from Harvard University. He then spent three years as a member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (narrowly missing Tegmark) before accepting a Professorship at the physics department of the University of California at Santa Cruz. Aguirre has worked on a wide variety of topics in theoretical cosmology, ranging from intergalactic dust to galaxy formation to gravity physics to the large-scale structure of inflationary universes and the arrow of time.

Associate Scientific Director: Max Tegmark, Professor, MIT
A native of Sweden, Tegmark earned his Ph.D. in physics at Berkeley in 1994. He then worked as a research associate at the Max-Planck-Institut für Physik in Munich, as a Hubble Fellow and member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, and as faculty at the University of Pennsylvania before joining MIT in 2004. Tegmark's research has focused on cosmology theory and phenomenology, but has also included diverse topics such as interpretations of quantum mechanics, predictions of inflation, and parallel universes.
Back to Top

Advisory Council

John Barrow, Professor of Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge University
Barrow's research interests are cosmology, the foundations of physics, gravitational and particle physics. Barrow has written a number of popular books on these topics.

Nick Bostrom, Director, Future of Humanity Institute, and Professor, University of Oxford
Bostrom's research interests are philosophy of science, ethics, transhumanism, and probability theory.

Gregory Chaitin, Emeritus Researcher, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Chaitin's research interests include physical and mathematical complexity, algorithmic information theory, metamathematics, and philosophy of science.

David Chalmers, Professor of Philosophy and Neural Science, and a Director of the Centre for Mind, Brain and Consciousness, New York University
Chalmers' research interests include the philosophy of mind, cognitive science, and the foundations of physics.

Patricia M. Gruber, Co-founder and President Emeritus, The Gruber Foundation
Previously a psychotherapist in private practice in California, Gruber operated the Patricia and Peter Gruber Foundation since its inception in 1993 with her husband, Peter, including its International Prize Program. Gruber was President of the Foundation from 2000 to 2011. Since gifting the International Prize Program to Yale University in 2011, she serves as the Gruber Member of the Board of Directors.

Alan Guth, Professor of Physics, MIT
Guth's research interests are cosmology and particle physics, especially inflationary theory.

Robert Lawrence Kuhn, Creator, Producer, and Host, "Closer to Truth"
Kuhn has a doctorate in brain science and the author or editor of more than 25 books. He is recognized as an international investment banker and expert on China. He is chairman and founder of The Kuhn Foundation.

Christopher Liedel, Chief Executive Officer, U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Museum
A business leader with strategic planning expertise, Liedel was previously president of Smithsonian Enterprises, the revenue-producing arm of the Smithsonian Institution. Prior to this, Liedel was with National Geographic for 16 years, as executive vice president and chief financial officer.

Bruce McWilliams, Chief Operating Officer,  Bossa Nova Robotics
McWilliams is a leader in the business sector with more than 20 years of executive and technical management experience in the semiconductor industry. He also holds a doctorate in physics from Carnegie Mellon University, where he is a trustee.

Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal, Royal Households of the United Kingdom
Previously Master of Trinity College and President of the Royal Society, Rees' research interests include understanding the large-scale structure of the Universe (for which he was awarded the 2005 Crafoord Prize) and high-energy astrophysics.

Lee Smolin, Researcher, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
Smolin's research interests center on quantum gravity and also include cosmology, particle physics, string theory and the foundations of quantum mechanics.

Melanie Swan, Principal, MS Futures Group
Swan is a researcher and hedge fund manager based in Silicon Valley. She specializes in finance, research, and entrepreneurship, including founding a technology startup company, GroupPurchase, which aggregated small business buying groups.

Frank Wilczek, Professor of Physics, MIT
Wilczek's research interests include particle physics, cosmology, condensed matter physics and the quantum theory of black holes. His work on asymptotic freedom was awarded the 2004 Nobel prize.

Back to Top

Board of Directors
This entity provides legal and financial oversight for FQXi.

Anthony Aguirre - Associate Scientific Director, FQXi
M. Amanda High - Chief of Strategic Initiatives, The Reinvestment Fund
A. Sarah Hreha - Executive Director, The Gruber Foundation
Kavita Rajanna - Managing Director, FQXi

Back to Top


FQXi Members are the lifeblood of our organization, consisting of top researchers and outreach specialists in our fields of interest. New members are added in two ways. First, successful FQXi Large Grant PIs and contest winners are given nominations automatically. Second, nominations from the Membership itself are solicited semi-annually. Subject to approval by FQXi, individuals with multiple nominations are added as Members.

The listing of current FQXI Members and information on the nomination process, is available here.

Back to Top

  • FQXi Members  
  • Please enter your e-mail address:

    Note: Joining the FQXi mailing list does not give you a login account or constitute membership in the organization.